Home BusinessInsider.com A Complete Total Eclipse Guide From History To Safety (Video)

A Complete Total Eclipse Guide From History To Safety (Video)

SHARE
total eclipse
Image: NASA
SPONSORED LINKS

After all the hype, finally tomorrow, Monday, the Total Solar Eclipse will occur. South Florida Reporter has gathered up many of the stories on the internet to help you, and your children, understand how, and why, an eclipse occurs. How to watch the eclipse safely, even here in Florida, where we’ll get about an 80% eclipse.  There’s even a story about how you can help science by shooting video with your cellphone.

Of course, the eclipse will be carried LIVE on many of your cable network and local TV stations.  Listed below, the NASA post includes all of the ways you can watch the eclipse via the internet, social media and the like.

First, this NASA video:

NASA: NASA Announces Television Coverage for Aug. 21 Solar Eclipse **

Programming begins at 9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT) with a preview show hosted from Charleston, South Carolina. The main show begins at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT) and will cover the path of totality the eclipse will take across the United States, from Oregon to South Carolina. The program will feature views from NASA research aircraft, high-altitude balloons, satellites and specially-modified telescopes. It also will include live reports from Charleston, as well as from Salem, Oregon; Idaho Falls, Idaho; Beatrice, Nebraska; Jefferson City, Missouri; Carbondale, Illinois; Hopkinsville, Kentucky; and Clarksville, Tennessee.

**this page lists every NASA app, livestream, social media site and internet link, to view the eclipse

Business InsiderThe best live video feeds streaming the 2017 total solar eclipse

Business Insider has compiled a collection of what should be the best feeds. As new ones go live, we’ll embed or link to them — so bookmark this page for later. NASA is pulling out all of the stops with two live feeds of the solar eclipse, via NASA TV and NASA EDGE, across multiple popular streaming-video services. We recommend watching those. NASA’s first stream goes on air at 8:45 a.m. PDT/11:45 a.m. EDT, which is about an hour before the darkest shadow of the moon, called the eclpumbra, first touches Oregon.

CNET: Total Solar Eclipse 2017: Your complete guide

North America will be treated to a rare total solar eclipse on Aug. 21. Hype for the eclipse is in overdrive thanks to its coast-to-coast track across the contiguous US, from Oregon to South Carolina. Here’s everything you need to know, from planning to eye safety to the fascinating history of the first total solar eclipse photo.

ReutersSolar eclipse to be streamed live for first time, from balloons

Next week’s solar eclipse will be streamed live online for the first time, from the vantage point of helium-filled balloons across the United States, providing the public with sky-high views as the moon blocks the sun.  A team of researchers from Montana State University has partnered with NASA to participate in the Space Grant Ballooning Project to send more than 50 high-altitude balloons 80,000 feet (24,384 meters) up to capture the solar eclipse as it crosses the country on Aug. 21.

LiveScienceHelp Make an ‘Eclipse Megamovie’ Using Your Smartphone

You can help scientists out during the total solar eclipse on Aug. 21 using nothing but your phone. A project called Eclipse Megamovie is asking volunteers across the country to record footage of the sun when it’s completely blocked by the moon on Aug. 21. (You can also use your DSLR camera if you want to contribute higher-res footage.) Once the footage is obtained, it will be stitched together into one long movie.

SpaceHere’s a Timeline of When the 2017 Solar Eclipse Begins and Ends

The Great American Solar Eclipse is almost upon us and if you’re planning to see it, timing is everything. From start to finish, the entire solar eclipse of Aug. 21 runs about four hours, but exactly what you can see and when depends on where you are. The eclipse begins on the West Coast at 9:05 a.m. PDT (12:05 p.m. EDT/1605 GMT) and ends on the East Coast at 4:09 p.m. EDT (2009 GMT). You can watch the entire solar eclipse on Space.com, courtesy of NASA.

Business Insider: 15 solar eclipse maps you need to study before the astronomical event of a century

Total solar eclipse fever is raging as millions prepare for an astronomical event that hasn’t cut across the US in 99 years. On August 21, the moon will slide in front of the sun and cast a dark, moving shadow on America. Not every location will see the solar eclipse at the same time, however, or witness the same phenomena — including totality, which is when the moon fully blocks the sun to reveal the star’s ghost-like corona.

Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2017 SW Florida Reporter

SHARE